©2017 by Author Becca McCulloch. Proudly created with Wix.com

Review: Christmas with the East End Angels

November 5, 2018

 

It's the most wonderful time of the year - and the East End Angels are working hard to keep Londoners safe.

 

Frankie is trying hard to keep everything together. She can count on the support of the East End Angels, even in the face of family trouble.

 

Winnie's beloved husband, Mac, is putting himself at risk every day in the bomb disposal unit and she's finding it hard while he's away.

 

Bella is growing in confidence and happiness. Her friendship with Winnie's brother, James, is getting closer all the time.

 

Christmas on the Home Front is a hard time with loved ones far away - but the women of the Auxiliary Ambulance service are making do and mending.

 

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna

 Douglas.

 

Review

 

Life has been a little challenging lately. Between my surgery and book release, reading time has been sadly limited. So I’m sorry to say I haven’t quite finished this book. But what I have read has been wonderful. 

 

This book explores the experience of four women doing ambulance service. Fans of Meet the Midwife and Foyle’s War will recognize the pluckiness of the women who kept London running while the men were at war. 

 

I’m fascinated by the neglected women’s perspective of World War II so this book has really delighted me. Current research shows that women are the lifegiving backbone of every society. The four women in this story echo that scientific finding. The challenges of maintaining family, building relationships and caring for others all culminate in a beautiful novel about humanity. 

 

The book is definitely Christmas lite, or maybe it’s just high on the spirit of giving at Christmas and low on the trappings. I wish there’d been more because I love a hearth-warming heartwarming, but the story itself does well to motivate me to share and care - the real heart of Christmas. 

 

This book is a fave, a good one to pull out each Christmas to remember that it isn’t wealth and security that creates joy, but the people with whom we choose to share our days. 

 

Now I need to go and read the exciting conclusion...

 

Purchase Links

Amazon UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-East-Angels-Rosie-Hendry-ebook/dp/B07CLL56W9

Amazon US - https://www.amazon.com/Christmas-East-Angels-Rosie-Hendry-ebook/dp/B07CLL56W9

 

Author Bio – Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She's worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women's magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.
 

 

Listening to her father's tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie's interest in this period and she's especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she's not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.
 

Website: www.rosiehendry.com

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitter - https://twitter.com/hendry_rosie

 

 

 

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

Archive

Please reload

Tags